Share |

MTG: Halimar Excavator Will His Ability Trigger Twice?

Halimar Excavator’s ability: Whenever Halimar Excavator or another Ally enters the battlefield under your control, target player puts the top X cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard, where X is the number of Allies you control.

So if I played a second Halimar Excavator will my opponent mill 3 cards?

If two Halimar Excavators are in play and i play another one will he mill 5 cards?

So if I have four Halimar Excavator in play and I kicked rite of passage(put five copies of target creature in play) my opponent will mill 72 cards?

Please help.
VERY CONFUSED!
How does nine Halimar Excavators triggering 45 times mill 405 cards? wouldnt you need 10 Halimar Excavator?

[affmage source="ebay" results="20"]excavator[/affmage]

  1. Arix
    October 23rd, 2010 at 02:13 | #1

    If you have an Excavator, it will mill one (assuming you control no other allies). If you play another, both it and the first will trigger. They’ll each mill two when they resolve, for a total of four. Playing a third will give you three triggers, each milling three cards.

    If you have four Excavators and then play Rite of Replication, then the five new Excavators each trigger five times, as do the four ones already in play. So you have nine Excavators, each triggering five times, for a total of 45 triggers. When each resolves, they count nine Allies and mill nine cards, for a total of 405 cards milled.

  2. MagicianTrent
    October 23rd, 2010 at 02:13 | #2

    Whenever each Halimdar enters the battlefield, it will put its ability on the stack and make every other Halimdar put its ability on the stack. The number of cards milled from each one is determined by the number of Allies in play at the time the ability resolves from the stack.

    As far as kicking Rite of Replication, since all five tokens enter the battlefield simultaneously, they all trigger each other and all other allies. Because of this, it is brutal with pretty much any Ally. Even if you only have a lone Halimdar in play when you kick Rite of Replication, it’s still going to mill 180 cards. Use it on a Turntimber Ranger, and you get a bunch of 7/7 Rangers and 30(!) 2/2 wolves. Or on an Ondu Cleric for a minimum 180 life gained.

    For addtl question: No. Allies don’t just trigger when other Allies enter the battlefield. Because of the way their ability explicitly uses the name of the creature itself also, that means it also triggers its own ability as soon as it enters the battlefield. With 4 Halimars already in play and a kicked Rite of Replication, 5 more Halimars enter. Since each one triggers its ability off of itself, and since they enter at the same time, they each trigger off of each of the other 4. so that’s 5 * 5 = 25 triggers. On top of this, the 4 Halimars already in play see 5 more Allies enter play, so each of those 4 trigger 5 times, for another 20 triggers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.